In the LG Twins-Hanwha Eagles game held on the 23rd at Daejeon Hanwha Life Insurance Eagles Park, the game ended in a rare scene.
LG seized a golden opportunity 먹튀검증in the top of the 9th inning, trailing 6-7. Leading batter Moon Bo-kyung went on base with a heavy hit, and after one out, Kim Ki-yeon picked a walk and made first and second bases. Here, however, something happened when the ball hit by Seo Geon-chang floated over the head of Hanwha pitcher Park Sang-won.
First of all, the second base umpire declared an infield fly. If you look at Article 40 of the KBO Baseball Rules ‘Definition of Terms’, ‘Infield Fly’ means ‘a fly ball that the batter hits when the runner is 1st, 2nd base or full base with no out or 1 out, and the infielder can catch it with normal defense. ‘ he explained. In this case, the batter is unconditionally treated as an out.
This rule was created to prevent the defensive side from attempting a double play after deliberately missing an ordinary infield fly ball. Therefore, runners do not have to empty their occupied bases. The runner may stay attached to the base.
However, even if an ‘infield fly’ is sentenced, it is a ‘ball in play’ situation. Runners may attempt to advance at the risk of being caught on a fly ball. If the fielder fails to catch the ball and drops it, he may run to the next base. Like a normal fly ball, you can run to the next base after retouching.
◆Park Sang-won’s wit and Kim Ki-yeon’s bonehead play
In fact, pitcher Park Sang-won could have caught Seo Geon-chang’s floating ball right that day. However, he tactfully threw to first base after a one-bound catch. Because an ‘infield fly’ was declared, he did not throw to first base, but the batter was already out. If the runners were attached to the base, it was a situation that led to 2 companies 1st and 2nd base.
However, after LG first base runner Kim Ki-yeon saw Park Sang-won’s one-bound catch, a strange situation arose when he suddenly vacated first base and ran to second base. It was a bonehead play.
At this time, Hanwha first baseman Chae Eun-seong threw a throw to shortstop Oh Seon-jin who came in to cover second base. Second base runner Bo-kyung Moon quickly returned to second base and stepped on the base with his feet. Oh Seon-jin then turned and tagged Kim Ki-yeon, who was running to second base. And the game was over in an instant.
◆ Reasons why you shouldn’t use the term ‘intentional drop’
In this case, examples of incorrect use of baseball terminology often pop up. Pitcher Park Sang-won uses the term ‘intentional fall’ for a play where he intentionally catches the ball in one bound instead of catching it right away. This is a misnomer.
An ‘intentional drop’ refers to a play in which a player catches a ball or puts it in a glove and then deliberately drops it. In the first runner, the first runner, the first, first, third base, and the first runner, the infielder is conscious of double -play and the fly (including the line drive) is to touch the hand or glove first, and then drop it on purpose. ‘ is established. In other words, if it does not fit the body of the beast or the glove, the intentional fall itself cannot be established.
It is the same as an infield fly in that the batter runner is put out if the referee decides that the ball is ‘intentionally dropped’. However, it differs from the infield fly in that it applies even when the runner is only on first base or on first and third bases, and bunts and straight hits are also applicable.
‘Intentional fall’ is regarded as a kind of unsportsmanlike act or foul play on the part of the defense. If the referee declares ‘intentional fall’, the batter is unconditionally out, and immediately ‘ball dead’ is declared, and runners are not allowed to advance. This is also a measure to protect the attacking side, but is different from an infield fly that develops into a ‘ball in play’ situation.
Therefore, it is wrong to describe Park Sang-won’s play as “intentional fall.” It should be called “witty play” or “clever play”.